East Meets West

Weathervane

 

At last we are now seeing books appear on the market about vocal technique that are connecting bel canto with ancient practices such as Yoga.  I have learned a great deal from so many different disciplines over the years – some from the West such as Alexander Technique, Tomatis (Listening Therapy), Feldenkrais, Vocal Science and Fitzmaurice Voicework etc but just as many from the East such as Yoga (Pranayama in particular) Tai Chi, Qigong, and Mindfulness.  I have long thought there should be a more integrated approach in the traditional voice studio and also room for the spiritual connection in singing.  I have spent a great deal of time thinking about writing a book bringing together all that I have gleaned but have not yet found the time in my busy life to do so.  I have kept putting it off and instead have a pile of notes lying around in boxes. The usual scenario! I have been beaten to it with a number of new books appearing recently.  Well, I take my hat off to these authors and maybe one day I will eventually document my own journey hopefully with some new insights. Check these out:

Vocal Yoga” by Heather Lyle
Vocal Yoga VY” by Clare Fanning
Free Your Voice” by Silvia Nakkach
The Voice: A Spiritual Approach to Singing, Speaking & Communicating” by Miriam Jaskierowicz Arman (get her latest version)
The Tao Of Voice” by Stephen Chun-Tao Cheng

3 Comments

Filed under Alexander Technique, Hypnosis, Metaphysics, Opera, Overtone Chanting, Repertoire, Singers, Singing, Sound Healing, Speaking Voice, Vocal Technique, Voice Teaching

3 responses to “East Meets West

  1. Thank you for the hat dof! Appreciate your understanding of this more complete inner world that we live in the body.
    Best wishes – Clare Fanning

  2. titania47

    Could you give us your analysis about the book of Miriam J. Arman?

    I read it several times and re-read it very often
    BUT…
    I cannot make my mind about it.
    I find some part of it very interesting and helpful, and I adhere to most of her ideas on singing, which are vividly expressed
    But some part is complete nonsense : the egg and the spoon, fancy names given to real things, her dreadful drawings, her pretence not to know Garcia or any great name of vocal pedagogy (so that, as a consequence, she found everything by herself)…
    Furthermore, on You tube you can listen to her masterclasses and it is talk, talk, talk , and some eggs in the pupils ‘ mouths but no singing at all…
    I would be glad to get your review!
    Titania47

    • Personally, I have not read this author so I cannot analyze it. If you read my book you might see where we are different – to compare. So sorry.

      But if you want an opinion on something specific you can ask.

      Clare Fanning

Leave a comment